Review: Euphoric Wonderland

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Date of Publication: March 21, 2022

Type: Poetry/Music and Art/Mental Health

Links: Goodreads

This fascinating collection of poems is a journey through life, identity, and art in its many forms. From start to finish, the heavily music-inspired poetry takes you on a journey through the good, bad, and ugly experiences of life. Some are dark and intense while others are lighthearted and/or uplifting. The page art is beautiful and there were a few pieces that really resonated with me.

When I really connected to a poem in this collection, it truly felt rhythmic and wrapped me in its flow. Unfortunately, I only experienced this level of connection with a few of them. Generally speaking, I am not a huge fan of rhyme schemes and they feature in most pieces in this collection. The rhyming is often clever and works with the piece, but the sheer amount made it feel a little repetitive and less impactful over time. 

This collection is a celebration of art and expression with music at its center. The musical inspiration is clear in all of these poems with many titles being mentioned directly in the poems themselves. Almost all of the poems play with these titles. However, some of the meaning was lost when I didn’t know about the piece being mentioned. Personally, I found the name dropping jarring and a little cheesy, but I know others might really appreciate it. 

Overall, I don’t think I was the right reader for this collection. However, the poems are well written and the page art really enhances the experience. I think these will really shine for readers who get it more. 

Special thanks to NetGalley for providing this ARC!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started